Sedimetron for chamber ensemble (2012)

in memoriam Andrzej Chłopecki

fl, ob, cl, bsn | tpt, hrn, trbn | 2 perc | pno | vln 1, vln 2, vl, vc


Duration: 15’20”





The name of the piece is derived from the Latin word sedimentum “sediment” and the Greek word metron “measure”. The title refers to the sedimentation process, which is the tendency for particles in suspension to settle out of the fluid in which they are entrained. In this process the sedimentary rocks (such as rock salt, black coal or limestone) are formed. In sedimentology, the study of cross-sections of sedimentary rocks gives the information about the transformations of their structures. It is used for the interpretation of the geological history of the Earth. 

Sedimetron was composed using a multi-layer technique. The musical layers of the composition can be compared to the layers of sedimentary rock. Looking at the cross-section of the rock we can see the changes of ingredients, colours and texture. Analogically, the pitch and rhythm organization slowly change in the musical progression, and the intonation and timbre of the instruments are modulated. 

This piece is dedicated to the memory of Andrzej Chłopecki. 

Commissioned within the project "Where from? Where to? – Myths, Nation, Identities" – an initiative by Goethe-Institut (East Central Europe) in cooperation with BHF BANK Stiftung and Ensemble Modern. 



Metaforma, DUX, Ensemble Modern, Clemens Heil – conductor

Sound Chronicle of Warsaw Autumn, Ensemble Modern, Clemens Heil – conductor


List of performances:


11 October 

Budapest (HU), Budapest Music Center

Ensemble Modern, Peter Eötvös – conductor


4 October 

Riga (LV), Latvian National Opera, Rudens Kamermūzikas Festivāls

Ensemble Modern, Anu Tali – conductor


22 September 

Warsaw (PL), The Warsaw Philharmonic Chamber Hall, Warsaw Autumn

Ensemble Modern, Clemens Heil – conductor


22 January 

Frankfurt/Main (DE), Alte Oper, Frankfurten Positionen

Ensemble Modern, Anu Tali – conductor



11 December 

Munich (DE), Muffathalle, Musica Viva

Ensemble Modern, Peter Eötvös – conductor



10 października 2012