Metasolidus II / Cryptoscript for large symphony orchestra and computer (2011-12)

3 fl, 3 ob, 3 cl, 3 bsn | 2 tpt, 2 hrn, 2 trbn | 4 perc | 2 hrp, pno | 14 vln, 6 vl, 5 vc, 3 cb


Duration: 11’45”





The piece belongs to the cycle of two compositions – Metasolidus I and II. From Greek  metá means “among”, “between”, “including” and from Latin solidus signifies something “permanent”, “durable”, “stable”. So, combination of these words should be translated as a form of a higher order, which is solid even if it’s build from various pieces. 

In this work pitch, rhythmical and timbral material of two pieces – Diaphanoid and Cyclostratus – was a starting point in a very long process of transformation. The aim was to morph the original structure of chamber compositions to change it into the orchestral sonority and to blur the connection between initial pieces and a new one.

Commissioned by the City of Wrocław for the Musica Polonica Nova Festival.


List of performances:


28 April

Wrocław (PL), The Wrocław Philharmonic Hall, Musica Polonica Nova

Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra, Szymon Bywalec – conductor, Paweł Hendrich – computer


Metasolidus II / Cryptoscript

27 kwietnia 2022