Hyloflex αβ for string orchestra and computer (2007-2009)

10 vln, 4 vl, 4 vc, 2 cb


Duration: 15’50”





The name of the work could be translated as "built from curves". This title reflects the main idea of the composition, which is about a permanent lack of vertical consonances, although the pitch material is homophonic. Any "upright structures" are curved, "points" are scattered, creating a complex texture. Articulation and dynamics are subject to similar movements. These elements, similarly to the pitch and rhythm, move asynchronously in relation to each other, creating crescendos, diminuendos, modulating the tone of string instruments.

Commissioned by ZAiKS The Polish Society of Authors and Composers


Text (PL)



Chamber Works, DUX, Orkiestra Muzyki Nowej, Szymon Bywalec – conductor 

Glissando No.19, Orkiestra Muzyki Nowej, Szymon Bywalec – conductor


List of performances:


25 February 

Bydgoszcz (PL), The Pomeranian Philharmonic Hall

The Pomeranian Philharmonic, Fabián Panisello – conductor 



11 May

Wrocław (PL), Large Studio of Polish Radio, Musica Electronica Nova

Leopoldinum Chamber Orchestra, Ernst Kovacic – conductor 


14 March

Katowice (PL), Silesian Philharmonic Concert Hall

Silesian Chamber Orchestra, Osvaldo Ferreira – conductor


Hyloflex αβ

27 kwietnia 2022


Visualisation by Tomasz Strojecki

Premiere in Wrocław / Concert in Bydgoszcz